I’m waiting for my yarn (Dale of Norway Falk) to arrive from Webs. It should be here today or tomorrow.

In the meantime, I thought I’d share something I learned just the other day. As you know, pirates are known to wear eyepatches. I always assumed they did this because they lost an eye in a swordfight. Argh! However, I now know that the eyepatch serves a different purpose. They wore eyepatches to keep from being “blind” when going from the outside to the inside of their ships. Just before they went below deck they would switch their eyepatch to the opposite eye. The eye that had been covered would already be adjusted to the dark so they could see when in the lower light without having to wait for their eyes to adjust.

I thought this was fascinating and made perfect sense. However, I still think it’s more exciting to think about swordfights.